Elk NetworkMore than One Third of Colorado Counties Oppose Forced Wolf Introduction

General | January 17, 2020

Twenty-two of Colorado’s 64 counties (see map below) are now on record as opposed to an environmentalist-driven ballot initiative to forcibly introduce wolves into the state.

The latest are Las Animas County, located in southern Colorado along the Colorado-New Mexico state line, and Grand County which is immediately west of Boulder. Commissioners in both counties approved  resolutions opposing the measure.


“I can tell you that I’ve received phone calls and emails and text messages from people all over the state … and I’ve received zero calls saying we should support more wolves,” Merrit Linke, Grand County commissioner, told Sky-Hi News.

“Las Animas County residents and visitors enjoy abundant outdoor recreational opportunities, especially hiking, biking, and hunting pronghorn, deer and elk, as well as other outdoor activities,” Phil Dorenkamp, Las Animas County administrator, told the Chronicle-News.com. “These outdoor recreational activities and livestock production are two of the primary components of the Colorado economy and are a major contributor to the economy and social well-being of Las Animas County.”

Counties on record as opposing the resolution are Alamosa, Archuleta, Cheyenne, Crowley, Douglas, Fremont, Garfield, Grand, Hinsdale, Jackson, Kit Carson, Las Animas, Lincoln, Mesa, Moffat, Montezuma, Montrose, Otero, Rio Blanco, Rio Grande, Routt and Weld.

The Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation also strongly opposes the measure. RMEF has nearly 17,000 members and 28 chapters across the state.

(Photo source: Colorado Parks and Wildlife/Graphic source: Geology.com)